top of page

What I think about carpet flooring

If you have a carpeted room out of choice and are reading this, let me know what you think. I actually have carpet flooring in my room and all over the upstairs level. It's soft to walk on, it's comfortable and it makes everything more quiet which is beautiful that I don’t have to hear every step my brother makes in the morning.


But I came to a realisation that carpet flooring is actually pretty nasty to be honest. When my family and I moved into our current house, we had to hire a company to come in and clean all of the carpets upstairs and the difference was scary. The carpet turned from grey to white and that took like two cleaning sessions. The previous owners didn't have pets either. This made me think how much dirt, dust and cheesy feet had to have brought this carpet to this kind of state in becoming grey.


Obviously that hoover won't get those stains off of this carpet but the image fits to how over dramatic my mind is about carpet flooring. Or am I?

The cleaning helped but if you think about it, you clean and mop your tiles or hardwood floors even after you hoover it. But with carpets all you do is hoover it and maybe once in a while deep clean it but can you really deep clean it? This article explains a lot of statistics about carpet floors: https://auburncarpet.com/dirty-carpet-or-rug-making-you-sick/


“Scientists believe thousands of dust mites can survive on one ounce of carpet dust. Dangerous germs found in carpets can make you ill. The Norovirus, linked to causing stomach flu, can survive on an uncleaned carpet for more than one month,” states Orange County Register.

Just a few of the things a yucky carpet can cause listed on the website link above:

  • Allergies – sinuses, asthma and headaches

  • Respiratory – irritation and infections

  • Skin issues – rashes and fungal infections

  • Inflammation

  • Immune system – weakening



It's seems over the top but these are just things we don't have time to think about. If you however are in the midst of designing your forever home maybe think about carpets in the long term. It can look nice of course and Pinterest does not make it look ugly at all but I think people are cruising away from carpet flooring. Plus it really reminds me of a corporate job again something that I not a fan of.


With a rug however it's easier to just roll up and send to the carpet cleaner and problem solved. But you can do the same with carpet flooring. And don’t get me started on the quality you choose. Hardwood floors and tiles are also a struggle to choose the best quality so they don’t scratch and are easy to clean and affordable. But with carpets you never really know, you find out later if the carpet withheld your family’s feet. The specific carpet I have in my home is just awful for me, it collects hair and depending where you walk more on it it turns into these tiny balls that you can’t hoover but you’d have to sit with scissors and cut off.


Now what would I do? I would definitely use a hardwood or tile base depending on which part of the house it is. If you are looking to use carpet in the room let’s say a children’s bedroom you can choose one that covers the whole floor almost. There are so many designs to choose from and materials that all I can say is I am really pro rugs.

There are so many cool prints and designs to choose from apart from the more delicate rugs. A fun alternative though which I think could be a trend is to overlay carpets. I haven’t seen this specific style in the friends and family homes I have been to and think it could be a great statement piece. The correct choice of pattern and material however is key. You can’t stack the same rug in a different colour over each other and call it a day. The most important thing is to layer the right materials.


A rug adds texture and dimension to the space and I think they can make any home feel comfortable and warm. Just no carpet flooring please!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page